Firm Logo Anderson DiFiore PLLP
Firm Logo Anderson DiFiore PLLP
What Matters To You, Matters To Us

Call Us Today
se habla español

DWI in Minnesota: how much does it cost?

On Behalf of | Jan 4, 2019 | Uncategorized |

According to MADD, two out of three individuals will find themselves involved in a drunk driving accident in their life.

Minnesota takes driving while intoxicated very seriously, which is why the costs for DWI conviction can add up. What might you need to pay for after a DWI?

Costs associated with a first-offense DWI

There are quite a few charges associated with a DWI conviction, including ones you may not even realize. When the police find you guilty of driving with a BAC over .08 and under .16 percent, you may need to pay:

  • Car towing/ impound: When an officer arrests you for a DWI, your car will likely be towed and possibly impounded. The charges for this can vary but could cost anywhere from $100-$300.
  • Criminal charge: You will face a $1,000 fine for a first-offense DWI.
  • Alternate transportation: Because you face revocation of your driving privileges for 90 days, you may need to pay for alternate transportation during that time, which can be costly.
  • Alcohol education: Depending on your situation, you may need to attend alcohol education and treatment classes. The cost will vary according to how many sessions you need to attend.
  • License reinstatement: To get your license back after suspension or revocation, you need to pay a reinstatement fee, which could cost up to $680.
  • Insurance premium: After a DWI conviction, your insurance premium will likely increase dramatically, as the company will now see you as a “high-risk” driver.

Facing a DWI can be daunting but knowing the possible expenses can help you plan, as well as make sure you are not blindsided with costs you may not expect.